Board of Trustees

The Charles Armstrong School Board is currently comprised of 16 Trustees who volunteer their time and resources to advancing the mission and goals of Armstrong. Board composition reflects the strategic expertise, resources, and perspectives needed to achieve the mission and strategic objectives of the school.
Our Trustees include current parents, alum parents and individuals from the broader community as well as additional Special Trustees – the CAPSO Chair Liaison, two Liaisons to the UCSF Partnership, and our Founder and Chairman Emeritus, Dr. Wilbur Mattison, Jr. The Board works closely with Neil Tuch, who is an exceptional Head of School and fully dedicated to delivering our mission with excellence. 

The Board’s primary work and focus is long-term and strategic; the Board does not involve itself in the day-to-day operations of the school.

We are a working Board that organizes itself around the following committees: Executive, Development, Finance, Buildings and Grounds, Technology, Governance, Head Support and Evaluation, and Audit. Several of our committees include non-Board members.

Areas of Responsibility

2020-2025 Strategic Plan

List of 5 items.

  • Educational Excellence

    Expand and deliver our program with excellence for our current and future students.
  • Outstanding Work Experience

    Prioritize and outstanding Armstrong work experience that attracts and retains the best faculty and staff. 
  • Inclusive School Community

    Strive to be a progressive school community where all members feel valued, included and connected.
  • Serve More Armstrong Students

    Serve more dyslexic students at Armstrong by increasing the demand for lower school and exploring options for addressing the unmet demand in middle school.
  • Address Space Needs

    Address short- and long-term campus space needs including a potential new building or major renovations.


List of 16 items.

Special Trustees

List of 5 items.

  • Wilbur E. Mattison, Jr., M.D.

    Founder & Chairman Emeritus
  • Neil Tuch

    Head of School 
  • Jennifer Sadr

    CAPSO Liaison
  • Steven Carnevale

    UCSF Co-Liaison
  • David Evans

    UCSF Co-Liaison


If you have questions about the Armstrong Board of Trustees, please contact Elissa Whorl at Ewhorl@charlesarmstrong.org.